About us

The Department of Pediatric Emergency Medicine is comprised of our staff physicians, nurse practitioners, and ancillary staff. We are one of the largest groups in the nation. Both of our main hospitals are staffed 24/7/365 with BC/BE PEM physicians. In addition to a complete array of pediatric subspecialists, we have numerous resources available in our emergency departments including interpreter services, social services, child life specialists, pharmacists, respiratory therapists, medical scribes and research assistants.

Our Level I pediatric trauma center at Children’s Minneapolis is verified by the American College of Surgeons and is run in conjunction with our trauma surgeons and trauma physician assistants. Children’s is the only level 1 trauma center in the state of Minnesota, as well as parts of western Wisconsin, North Dakota and South Dakota.

Our leadership

  • Joe Arms, MD – Fellowship Program Director
  • Kara Seaton, MD – Associate Fellowship Director
  • Kelly Bergman, DO – Associate Fellowship  Director, Research Director
  • Cullen Hegarty, MD – Region’s Hospital Emergency Medicine Residency Program Director
  • Heather Pomeroy, Fellowship Coordinator

Emergency department leadership

Meet the faculty

Below is a list of our faculty in the Pediatric Emergency Fellowship program. Click on their names to view their profile.


Meet the fellows

Class of 2018

Saydi Chahla, MD
Residency: University of Minnesota (Pediatrics)
Medical School: University of Minnesota

Gena Cooper, MD
Residency: University of Wisconsin, Madison (Pediatrics)
Medical School: University of Wisconsin, Madison

Carly Theiler, MD
Residency: University of Minnesota (Pediatrics)
Medical School: American University

Class of 2019

Callie Becker, MD
Residency: Medical College of Wisconsin Affiliated Hospitals (Pediatrics)
Medical School: Medical College of Wisconsin

Amy Borden, DO
Residency: University of Minnesota (Pediatrics)
Medical School: Des Moines University of Osteopathic Medicine

Jennifer Thompson, MD
Residency: University of Iowa Hospitals & Clinics (Pediatrics)
Medical School: University of Minnesota

Christopher Ford, MD
Residency: University of Wisconsin, Madison (Emergency Medicine)
Medical School: Medical College of Wisconsin

Class of 2020

Vivianne Tchonang Leuche, MD
Residency: University of Washington/Seattle Children’s Hospital (Pediatrics)
Medical School: University of Minnesota

Normaliz Rodriguez, MD
Residency: University of Puerto Rico (Pediatrics)
Medical School: Universidad Central del Caribe School of Medicine

Meet the alumni

(Faculty position after fellowship)

Class of 2017

Meghan Cain, MD (Mayo Clinic – Rochester, MN)
Michael McWay, MD (Pediatric ultrasound fellowship, New York-Presbyterian Brooklyn Methodist Hospital – Brooklyn, NY)
David Piechota, MD (Essentia Health St. Mary’s – Duluth, MN)

Class of 2016

Kelly Bergmann, DO (Children’s Minnesota – Minneapolis, MN; Ultrasound fellowship – Hennepin County Medical Center)
Meghann Ronning, MD (Children’s Minnesota – Minneapolis, MN)
Jonathan Stutt, MD (University of Minnesota Masonic Children’s Hospital – Minneapolis, MN)

Class of 2015

Anna Depompolo, MD (Children’s Minnesota – Minneapolis, MN)
Kara Seaton, MD (Children’s Minnesota – Minneapolis, MN)

Class of 2014

Leena Sastry, MD (St. Louis Children’s Hospital, Washington University – St. Louis, MO)

Class of 2013

Annalisa Rudser, MD (Children’s Minnesota – Minneapolis, MN)
Funmi Salami, MD (Emory University Hospital – Atlanta, GA)
Beth Placzek, DO (Mayo Clinic – Rochester, MN)

Class of 2012

Jen Longo, MD (All Children’s Hospital – St. Petersburg, FL)

Class of 2011

Jeff Dahlen, MD (Children’s Minnesota, Ridgeview Medical Center – Minneapolis, MN)
Jen Halverson, MD (Children’s Minnesota – Minneapolis, MN)
Tom Skrypek, MD (Children’s Minnesota – Minneapolis, MN)

Class of 2010

Vaishali Jha, MD (Children’s Minnesota – Minneapolis, MN)


Contact us at [email protected].

Children’s is the only Level I Trauma Center dedicated to kids in MN, ND, SD and western WI.